Yes, YOU can!

So you’ve had that nagging feeling that “maybe I should just homeschool?” I’m here to tell you that yes you can. That little voice is God’s encouragement. He has set it on your heart. I’m so excited to share this with you because I also made the leap to homeschooling after having my oldest daughter in public school. In the next few blog posts I’m going to explain a little of how to bridge the gap between that feeling and actually going for it!

First off, let me start by saying that you’re not the only one doubting if you can actually educate your children successfully at home. I mean, for the many moms I’ve talked with who have also made this switch from traditional schooling to educating in their homes (or you know outside! Because education can take place outside of a building if you choose!) the general consensus is that at some point we (as parents) have questioned if we are cut out for this. Chances are we are also a product of having attended public school so of course that is what we plan to do for our children. Well let me tell you this, the benefits of homeschooling are amazing. These little humans were intended for YOU! Let’s help them by providing them tools to embrace the world and pour into their interests as well all while spending more quality family time together-more than just a half hour at the dinner table.

Alright, let’s get to it. Here I’ll discuss the basics: following your state laws, options for home education, ideas for socialization, establishing routines and expectations, and how to choose curriculum. Be sure to follow along for all this and more!

First and foremost, find out what your state laws and regulations are. I suggest checking out hslda.org. Once there, select legal, select the state you live in and read! The website will explain very clearly what the options for homeschooling are in your state and the regulations.

Depending on your state, different options for homeschooling will be available. In California, HSLDA explains there are three options. I know plenty of families who have signed up under a charter school and do either a home or hybrid program. These programs give you some supervision so you have to occasionally check in with a teacher with work samples to ensure your student is making progress. Some of the program options may include a full time at home education (in other words you are fully teaching at home) whereas other programs are more of a hybrid model meaning your children go to school for a couple days a week and are with you the rest of the time. From my understanding these programs usually provide some government money per semester to spend on things like secular curriculum and extra curricular activities for use with approved vendors. The next option is one I’m most familiar with: signing the PSA or the Private School Affidavit. This is a document I sign each year informing the state that I’m educating in my home and am fully aware of my responsibilities in teaching courses commonly taught, maintain attendance and other records, instruction is done in English with someone who is capable of properly educating, and I keep a list of what we have studied each year. Pretty straightforward and leaves lots of room for flexibility! I know plenty of parents who home educate full time and some who have a grandparent or find a learning pod to educate their children while the parents work full time. There are even families where parents work full time and home educate their own children. You have plenty of options to find which fit is right for you.

Socialization. What is that anyways? Oh is it that thing that we are led to believe that for 13 years (kinder through 12th grades) that we are supposed to interact 95% of the time with only other children our age? Let’s just rethink that for a minute. How many of my daily interactions with friends, at a store, library, on the phone with a durable medical vendor do I talk with someone exactly my own age? I’ll explain how our family does socialization. The girls are in many activities some of which include: soccer, gymnastics, Awana, and Girl Scouts (a multi level troop too!). All of these activities provide my children many opportunities to interact with other people. If you feel like you need a different type of community try a homeschool co op or make one of your own. It may take some time to find your own group but you can also check to see if your local library knows of any local groups. If you’re participating in a charter school like program you can ask around there as well if the school or other parents know of local co-ops. If all else fails begin your own co op by posting a flyer at a local library or at a local charter school for a park meetup. You’ll find your people, just give it time and put in a little effort because they won’t find their way on their own into your life.

Stay tuned for more on establishing routines and how to find curriculum.

As always, I’m here to help encourage so if you have questions or want to know more let me know!

Leave a comment

I'm Emily

Welcome to Nook, my cozy corner of the internet dedicated to all things homemade and delightful. Here, I invite you to join me on a journey of creativity, craftsmanship, and all things handmade with a touch of love. Let's get crafty!

Let's connect